How I Get Mellow

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Have You Never Been Mellow?.”

mel·low
ˈmelō/ adjective
verb
  1. 1.
    make or become mellow.
    “getting older does mellow the hard edges around the anger”
    synonyms: relax, unwind, loosen up, de-stress, slow down, take it easy

Well for me reading before bed from a book I’m enjoying lets me get sleepy but you occasionally get a screen where something exciting happens and it wakes you up instead.

A hot, hot shower will make me limp and relaxed but also more ready for good things to happen in that day.  Also I have a bunch of smelly fun shampoos and body wash.  Talk about aroma therapy. LOL

Sitting back eating frozen yogurt or favorite ice cream while watching a movie does sometimes because I’m in bliss mode from the ice cream.

Some music can relax or mellow me too. Classical or mellow light rock stuff.  Country puts me out like a light since I’m not a huge fan of it but grew up with it.  Some stuff is really good but the old Country music is best.  Carol Baker, Kenny Rogers, Dolly Parton.  Anyone remember “Islands in the Stream?” or “They Never Promised Me a Rose Garden?”  Wow now I feel old.  I’m really dated aren’t I?  LOL

Coffee in the morning is a relaxing thing to do since I don’t really use it to wake up.  It’s part of a routine that starts me off positively for that day.

Praying works wonders as well.  When I can take my problem, worry or stress and give it to God it calms me down alot.

What did I miss…oh right the fur babies that stink up their litter box…lol.  No, I’m kidding, but yes my cats help bring me to a relaxed state where I can fall asleep because all kitties let of this “magical kitty sleepy power” over their owner.   Also when Peter crawls into my arms and we lean back in my desk chair and pet and snuggle with him while he purrs.

keep-calm-and-mellow-out

One thought on “How I Get Mellow

Leave a Reply

